April 5, 2017

Congratulations to our new Hall Government as they continue the tradition of building community in Ryan Hall.  I hope that we can all contribute to building a home where all feel loved and safe.  Everyone is valued who lives and visits Ryan Hall.

There was a lot of discussion about a man who came to speak and was critical about Notre Dame and various  groups of people.  I was not at the talk, but I want to emphasize the fundamental belief that all people are created in the image and likeness of God.  Everyone is created by love and called to love their neighbor as themselves.  We are not in any position to pass judgment on another person.  We can learn how to treat others by reading the gospel and seeing how Jesus treated people on the margin.  He did not condemn the woman caught in adultery, but encourages her to go and avoid sin.  He loved Mary Magdalene and forgave her and she became the first person to witness the resurrection.  Mary was given the mission to go and tell the disciples that Jesus has risen.

I have been reading the Encyclical, Laudato Si’ by Pope Francis.  He says the following to us:

Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you. (Jeremiah 1:5). We were conceived

in the heart of God, and for this reason, each of us is the result of a thought

of God.  Each of us is willed, each of us is loved, each of us is necessary.

I read these thoughts and I think of everyone in Ryan Hall.  I have seen tremendous expressions of love among you.  I am inspired every day by the woman of Ryan

We love Tuesday nights in Ryan Hall and I think of the amazing women who contributed to this.  We have the solid foundation of senior bakers who have passed on the tradition that they learned from those who went before them.  I can remember Shawn Hall and Erin Hanahoe coming into my room the second week of their freshman year and wanted to bake.  They became regular bakers.  T Finny was directed by her older sister, Megan, to come and bake.  I think about them and how they have grown into great women who have contributed to Ryan Hall for four years.  There have been many others from each class who have followed and through many people we have a great event that is building community in Ryan and among friends from other dorms. There are many other Ryan women who are following the example set by those who came before.  They include the most generous Mary Carroll who goes above and beyond the call of duty.

I hope that we can all notice the love and friendship that is all around us.  We are blessed and we love one another.  This is is what it means to be in community.

I am praying for all of you and want you to know you are loved.

Love you!

FJ

Leave a Reply

