February 15, 2017

I hope everyone had a good celebration of Valentine Day. I have learned during 12 years of living with Notre Dame women that it is a good day for some of you and not so good for others. Whatever yesterday was like know that you are loved in the Ryan Hall Community.

I have had a little crisis today in that my phone is having a hard time charging.  It makes things difficult for some of my communication with ACE teachers.  This problem is not really a crisis, but more an inconvenience and it makes me think that it is not good to be dependent on things.  I think we need to see the most important way of connecting to others is by face to face contact.

I usually get up in the morning and check out the news on my phone.  There is nothing wrong  with this, but if I spend the time doing this, I am not praying or working out.  There is no reason why I have to find out news so early and besides most of it is not very good.

Have you ever thought what is most important for you?  Think about the things you have in your room and how much do you really need them? Take an inventory of what you have.

I have been trying to simplify things.  I look in my closet and see many things that I never wear.  I have decided that I am going to give some things to Goodwill because if I do not need something, why should it take up space?  I gave away some winter coats last fall because I only need one coat. I will continue to purge my room of things.

This is a good time of the year to do this because Lent is coming up.  We will hear on Ash Wednesday, March 1st this year, that we are called to change our lives by prayer, fasting and alms giving.  Let us look at fasting.  Most of us think this is to give something up like chocolate or sweets.  This is one approach, but fasting does not have to be from food that we enjoy.  We can fast from being judgmental, gossip or being unkind. It would be nice if we accepted others even if they are different from us.  Fasting can involve doing nice things for others.

I want to encourage you during the next couple of weeks to reflect on what would be good for you to fast from during Lent this year.  Be willing to look at Lent as a time where you can grow as a person and become your best self.  Here is one question to ask yourself.

How am I becoming a good person who loves God and my neighbor as myself?

I am praying for you and want you to know I love you.

Love you!

FJ

Leave a Reply

