November 9, 2016

It was a long night last night.  I want you to know that I am happy that I live in Ryan Hall surrounded by so many loving people who are kind and generous.  I love all of you.

Our community was able to celebrate beating Badin in Flag Football and that we will play for the Championship in the Stadium on November 20th.  This will be the second time Ryan has gone to the Championship game.  Congratulations to the women on the team and Connor Bradley and the other coaches from Dillon Hall.

I want to share a personal story that I have been thinking about as I watched the election returns last night.  My concern is about all of you and four of my great nieces and nephews.  My niece is married to a man who was born in Mexico and they have four children who range from 13 to 8.  They live in California so they watched the election returns and they were freaking out.  They are scared and I feel for them because I do not think children or anyone of us should be afraid.  But that is what is happening and it is important that we need to discover how to respond and discover a way to move forward.

I believe we are people who know how to love.  We know how we can support and love each other and I believe we need to move forward trying to practice acts of kindness.  This is not easy when fear surrounds us, but we need to face our fears and recognize that love will always overcome hate.  Think of the many ways love has been shown to you and how you have shown it to others.

I think at this time of my favorite gospel story that I think about every day.  It is the story of Jesus washing the feet of his disciples.  We hear this reading at the Holy Thursday Mass.  Jesus washes the feet of the disciples and when he has finished says this.

When Jesus had washed their feet and put on his clothes again he went

back to the table.  Do you understand, he said, what I have done to you?

You call me Master and Lord, and rightly; so I am.

If I then the Lord and Master have washed your feet, you should wash each other’s       feet. I have given you an example so that you may copy what I have done to you.

This is a time that we can bring healing to each other and we can do it by loving each other as Jesus loves us.  Jesus shows us the way and we can do what he can control.  Let us try to love by expressing it and showing it to each other, our families and with all of our friends.

Know that you are all in my thoughts and prayers.  I tell you I love you and I invite to share this love with others.

Love you!

FJ

Leave a Reply

