September 21, 2016

 

We have had some beautiful days this week. It makes me think about summer rather than fall. I hope you are all doing well.

Our Ryan Flag Football team has begun with two victories as this new season begins. The goal is to go to the Championship in the Stadium which the Seniors did as freshman. We lost that game, but the goal is to win this year. We have a big game this Sunday against Welsh Family who have thoughts about destroying us, but our women will play with confidence and class.

Most of you know that I work for the Alliance for Catholic Education which is called ACE. This is a two year teaching program in which graduates study during two summers and that combined with teaching results in receiving a Master’s degree in Education from Notre Dame. I love working with these teachers. Ryan Hall has a great relationship with ACE Teachers as there are nine teachers in the program now. This is the most for any hall.

We have two seniors, Anna Bourbonais and Maddie Felts who are ACE Interns. They are available to talk to anyone who want more information. I am also available for conversation and would encourage seniors and underclass students to talk about what ACE is about.

I am grateful for the many people help to make life in Ryan Hall so wonderful. We can begin with the executive committee of the Ryan Hall Government. This group is led by President Emily Casey, Vice President Grace Weissend, Secretary Grace Seibert and Treasurer Jenny Moore. They have organized the Hall in a way that has brought many people into positions that help us have many events to create community. I am really happy that Danni Conteras and Mary Carroll help in organizing the cleanup on Tuesday nights in my room. They and many people do amazing things that often go unnoticed, but are very helpful. I want to thank everyone who are generous and loving.

I speak to many people about Notre Dame. I tell them about how amazing all of you are and how much you love Notre Dame. I am in awe of all of you because you are doing great things. I admire all of you because you are generous, kind and loving.

I think the spirit of Ryan is shown to us by the life of Megan Crowley. She is always kind and pleasant and carries her cross on a daily basis. There are many people who would give up on school if they suffered like Megan, but this is not something she would consider. I would encourage you to get to know her because to know Megan is to know love.

I pray for all of you every day and ask Christ to be with you on your life journey.

Love you!

FJ

Leave a Reply

